THE DRUMS Returns With New Reflective Yet Upbeat Single ‘BODY CHEMISTRY’…

Brand new sonic impulses

16 January 2019

Jonny Pierce‘s band THE DRUMS just announced their fifth longplayer BRUTALISM, out
5th April. Here’s the first single BODY CHEMISTRY. A song inspired by Pierce dealing with increasing depression. “I still found myself weighed down with anxiety and depression. This song asks the question: Is this dull, sad feeling in my DNA? Is it part of my gene pool? Can it ever be corrected? I had been confronting some of my most stubborn demons, and I came to realise that confronting doesn’t always mean conquering.”

Despite the downcast and troubled story the track has an upbeat vivacity caused by lively guitar lines and its overall poppy infectiousness. Check ‘Body Chemistry‘ out right here…

THE DRUMS: Facebook

UNKLE Is Back And Still Grooves And Moves – Here’s ‘AR.MOUR’ (Feat. Miink & Elliot Power)…

Brand new sonic impulses

10 January 2019

(photo: FB UNKLE)

Trip-hop project UNKLE centered around Mo’Wax label founder James Lavelle will release a new album later this year. A sequel of 2017’s The Road, Part 1, simply titled THE ROAD: PART II / LOST HIGHWAY. Here’s one of the new songs called ‘AR.MOUR’ which features Miink and Elliott Power. Its vibey, spacey and trippy. Groove and move right here, folks…

UNKLE: Facebook

THE ROAD PART II / LOST HIGHWAY – Pre-order info here


Brand new sonic impulses

8 January 2019

(photo: Hamish Brown)

Rave legends THE CHEMICAL BROTHERS will release their follow-up album, entitled NO GEOGRAPHY to 2015’s Born In Echoes later in the year. Last November they shared first song Free Yourself and here’s the second one. MAH (Mad As Hell) is an unusual short
but highly denotative track. After a spooky intro it hits you like a massive cannonball. That’s the way the Bros making dance punk music, folks. Go berserk right here…

THE CHEMICAL BROTHERS: Website – Facebook – Discography

Californian Noise Legends XIU XIU Return With New Album And Share First Track… ‘SCISSSSSSSORS’

New sonic impulses

6 December 2018

Experimental noise explorers XIU XIU formed back in 2002 by singer-songwriter Jamie Stewart return with new line-up, including SwansThor Harris and the announcement of new longplayer Girl With Basket Of Fruit, out in February. Ahead of the album’s release here’s first track called SCISSSSSSSORS. A mystifying sped-up tribal eruption. Join the baffling ritual-like encounter in the accompanying clip right here…

XIU XIU: Facebook

GIRL WITH BASKET OF FRUIT – out 8 February – pre-order facilities here

Sit Back And Relax Here’s A New ARCTIC MONKEYS Track Called ‘ANYWAYS’…

New sonic impulses

30 November 2018

After the surprisingly soft new album Tranquility Base Hotel & Casino it seems like
the wild rockin’ years of Alex Turner & Co are over. Today the band confirms its swing of moods again with the previously unreleased track ANYWAYS, the B-side to their new 7″ single with the LP’s title track as the A-side. Sit back, relax and enjoy this modern day’s
Frank Sinatra

ARCTIC MONKEYS: Website – Facebook –  Twitter

London’s MODERATE REBELS Announce Second Album And Share Lead Track ‘THE VALUE OF SHARES’…

20 November 2018

London’s variable and still mysterious outfit MODERATE REBELS (although the new press photos reveal 4 female members instead of 2) are about to release the follow-up album to their lo-fi pop debut The Sound Of Security. New longplayer SHARED VALUES will hit the streets on 30 November via Everyday Life Recordings.

SHARED VALUES out 30 November – pre-order facilities via iTunes

The self-proclaimed anti-music project says about the new record: “We went into the studio with a couple of songs to record an EP, and we ended up with an album-length EP. We like to just let things happen and for songs to mostly write themselves. It’s a case of mucking around and seeing what feels right and what doesn’t. We say it all the time, but it’s important to note – we don’t intend anything. We don’t feel like ‘artists’ with grand statements to make.”

Ahead of the fresh full lenght’s launch here’s, following earlier shared cuts I Love Today  , Beyond Hidden Words and Science & Faith, lead track THE VALUE OF SHARES. Another magnetizing mantra-like mind-ripper with fuzzy guitar flashes and ongoing vocal repetition of the main line ‘I Like You / You Like Me’. You bet I do. Catch their feverish drift here…

MODERATE REBELS: Twitter – Instagram

(photo: Moderate Rebels press)

PERFUME GENIUS Shares Brand New Afflictive Cry Of Despair ‘NOT FOR ME’…

New sonic impulses

19 November 2018

After reworking ‘Alan‘, the closing track of his 2017 album No Shape with streaming benefits going towards American immigrant rights organization Immigration Equality, Mike Seattle’s singer-songwriter Mike Hadreas aka PERFUME GENIUS has just launched new afflictive song called NOT FOR ME. An intimate, yet painfully captivating cry of despair caused by being unloved, by being ignored. “I’ve never known love or been shown love, you’ll see / Ballads are being sung, but not for me” he regrets deeply. Listen here…


SWERVEDRIVER Shares Another New Track From Upcoming LP – Here’s ‘DRONE LOVER’…

17 November 2018

British shoegaze veterans SWERVEDRIVER split back in 1998, after almost 10 years on the scene and got back together in 2015 with the release of reunion album I Wasn’t Born To Lose You. Now the band is about to release another fresh longplayer, entitled FUTURE RUINS. Last month they launched first single Mary Winter and today they shared another cut. DRONE LOVER is a song about “remote war and killing from a distance whilst chomping on last night’s leftover pizza or something.” Catch the fuzzy contemplation here…

FUTURE RUINS will be out on 25th January – pre-order facilities here.


THE DANDY WARHOLS Announce New Album And Single And Tour To Celebrate The Band’s 25th Birthday…

15 November 2018

Portland‘s psychedelic groove masters THE DANDY WARHOLS will release their brand new album WHY YOU SO CRAZY to celebrate their 25th birthday on 25 January 2019 via Dine Alone Records. Pre-order facilities right here or via PledgeMusic. They will also embark on a lengthy tour. You can check the tour dates (so far) here. Ahead of all the festive fun here’s new single BE ALRIGHT featuring actress/singer Jessica Paré in the accompanying 360° video clip, shot in the band’s space, called Odditorium, which includes a bar owned by frontman Taylor-Taylor who has a deep passion for the wine world. Watch it here…

Here’s the artwork for the new album and its tracklist

1. Fred N Ginger
2. Terraform
3. Highlife
4. Be Alright
5. Thee Elegant Bum
6. Sins Are Forgiven
7. Next Thing I Know
8. Small Town Girls
9. To The Church
10. Motor City Steel
11. Forever
12. Ondine

THE DANDY WARHOLS: Website – Facebook –  Twitter – Instagram

(photo on top: FB – The Dandy Warhols)

California’s Vivid Garage Rockers FEELS Share New Single ‘CAR’…

Brand new sonic impulses

13 November 2018

(pic: FB Feels)

California’s garage rock squad FEELS, led by frontwoman Laena Geronimo and singer-songwriter Shannon Lay had their 2016 self-titled debut LP produced by 24/7 musician
Ty Segall and it was released on Oh Sees frontman John Dwyer’s indie imprint Castle Face. Now the band announce follow-up longplayer Post Earth, out in February next year via Witchita. Here’s the first taster, single CAR. A fervent mid-tempo rocker. “A tongue-in-cheek guided tour around a twisted political landscape where everything’s a lie and ignorance is bliss,” explains the band. Watch the accompanying band on the run style video clip right here…

FEELS: Facebook

New album POST EARTH out 22 February 2019