And The Winner Is… IGGY POP

9 February 2022

The Aerican Polar Music Prize 2022 is awarded to lust for life icon IGGY POP.

Why? With his era-defining group The Stooges, Iggy Pop created furious rock music by
blending together blues and free jazz influences with the roar of the Michigan automotive industry. With his courage, initiative and raw power, Iggy Pop paved the way for punk and
post-punk. Groups like the Sex Pistols, Ramones, Blondie, Siouxsie and the Banshees, Joy
Division and Nick Cave all followed in his footsteps.

As a solo artist, Iggy Pop has never slowed down, and has instead pushed this art form forwards for half a century. Iggy Pop is “the chairman of the bored” who portrays alienation
in poetic language. A wholly unique artist who personifies and embodies what rock music is about.

Congrats, mister Osterberg

Even at 74 Iggy still has a lust for touring…

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s