Coming In August… 9th MUSE Album

1 April 2022

Band: MUSE
Who: Mega famous (in the UK and Europe)
rock trio from Teignmouth, Devon, UK
Active: Since 1994 – 9 studio LPs
(including the new one)

Out: 26 August 2022 – order info here

Matt Bellamy (frontman): “‘Will Of The People’ was created in Los Angeles and London and is influenced by the increasing uncertainty and instability in the world. A pandemic, new wars in Europe, massive protests and riots, an attempted insurrection, Western democracy wavering, rising authoritarianism, wildfires and natural disasters and the destabilization of the global order all informed Will Of The People. It has been a worrying and scary time for all of us as the Western empire and the natural world, which have cradled us for so long are genuinely threatened. This album is a personal navigation through those fears and preparation for
what comes next.”

Singles (shared so far): Compliance / Won’t Stand Down

(With ‘The Final Countdown’ synths)

(A giga pop-metal blast)

MUSE: Facebook – All Albums

THE MAGNIFICENT SEVEN – 7 New Firecrackers From The Past Week

7 new firecrackers from the past 7 days

1. Forgotten by KORN (Bakersfield, CA)

This new single is vintage Korn. Uncomplicated nu-metal for everybody
who wants their ears to go bonkers. From their forthcoming, 14th LP
Requiem, out early next month.



2. Won’t Stand Down by MUSE (UK)

This comeback haymaker is” “about standing your ground against bullies, whether that
be on the playground, at work or anywhere.”
I was a fan of early Muse exploits (their 2004 masterwork Absolution still gives me goosebumps). Their stardom made them go a bit too artificial and predictable for my liking. But this new one roars hard with a metallic sound as big as St Paul’s Cathedral in London. Cast-iron!

Turn up the heat…


3. UZI by BLURT (Gloucestershire, UK)

The late 70s cult post-punks (Factory Records) are back and their free-jazz-punk
firework is still intact. Led by poet/musician Ted Milton the mavericks groove as hell.
Message to all young bands out there: listen and take notes.

Let’s roll…


4. Wrong Answers Only by THE STREETS and MASTER PEACE (UK)

The Streets‘ musical brain Mike Skinner and rapper Master Peace
joined forces for this easy-going hip-pop jingle.


5. Be The Hook by PAVEMENT (Stockton, CA)

Not really a new track. It’s a previously unrealized song from their Twilight Terror
album sessions (their final LP – 1999). It will be part of a deluxe reissue edition titled Terror Twilight: Farewell Horizontal’, out next April. More info here.

Get hooked here…


6. Brother The Cloud by EDDIE VEDDER (Seattle)

Eddie Vedder has his third solo album Earthling. I could swear
that this explosive single comes from a lost Pearl Jam longplayer.

Here’s why…


7. Love Is Selfish by JACK WHITE (Detroit)

Busy bee Jack White (real name: John Anthony Gillis )
gives birth to his 5th solo LP Fear Of Down in April.

Hear his acoustic lullaby track…

MUSE Released Their Fourth Album ‘BLACK HOLES AND REVELATIONS’ 15 Years Ago Today

30 June 2021

Band: MUSE (Teignmouth, Devon, UK)
Active: since 1994 / 8 studio albums so far

Released: 30 June 2006 – 15 years ago today
Score: #1 in the UK, Australia, and several
European countries / #9 in the US

POPMATTERS wrote: “Muse impresses, and continues to impress
on Black Holes, not only because they have the Romantic classical
harmony-fueled huge stadium sound down pat, but in the details
that show a band mature and talented.”
Score: 7/10.

Turn Up The Volume: A series of Spaceship symphonies.

Singles/clips: Supermassive Black Hole / Starlight / Invincible




Full album…

MUSE: All Albums

ROCKIN’ IN THE FREE WORLD – Five Ballbreaking Live Killers Against Paranoia..

To fight paranoia in these lockdown times you don’t need to inject yourself with disinfectant. I have some far better medication. Turn up the volume, and pretend
that corona is a tasty beer, not a nasty virus. Go bananas to these 5 steamy live killers. Scream, jump, pump your fists, play air guitar, and keep on rockin’ in the free world…

– Smells Like Teen Spirit’ by NIRVANA –

– ‘Hysteria’ by MUSE –

– ‘Mr. Brightside’ by THE KILLERS featuring JOHNNY MARR

– ‘Fight For Your Right’ by BEASTIE BOYS –

– Keep On Rockin’ in The Free World by NEIL YOUNG –

Hell Yeah…

(VANT – photo by Turn Up The Volume!)

Supersonic Rockers MUSE Released Their Top Debut Album ‘SHOWBIZZ’ 20 Years Ago…

7 September 2019


20 years ago today, on 7 September 1999, British mega UFO obsessed supersonic rockers MUSE released their debut album SHOWBIZZ.  It’s really amazing how this mind and soul-stirring first longplayer was actually the predetermined blueprint for all they achieved over two decades later. From bombastic  and grandiloquent musical extravaganza to sweet and tenderhearted balladry. It made them superstars in the UK and Europe!

ALL MUSIC wrote: “The musical touchstone for the British trio Muse is obviously Radiohead
and that fact is crystal clear from the smoldering opening cut, “Sunburn.” Their John Leckie-produced debut, Showbiz, is strong on angst-filled vocals, esoteric lyrics, and dramatic shifts
in sonic dynamics.”  
Full review here

Three Top Tracks…




Album in full…

MUSE: Facebook – All Albums


Weekly series of five rolling ripsnorters to go completely bananas to this summer

Let’s go nuts again! Here’s highly explosive stuff to party your head off this week…

1. ‘The Creeps’ by LAURA IMBRUGLIA
(Single 2019)

2. ‘In The Name Of The Father’ by BLACK GRAPE
(From album: It’s Great When You’re Straight… Yeah – 1995)

3. ‘Hysteria’ by MUSE
(From album: Absolution  – 2004)

4. ‘Pure Morning’ by PLACEBO
(From album: Without You I’m Nothing – 1998)

5. ‘White Male Carnivore’ by YAK
(From album: ‘Pursuit Of Momentary Happiness‘ – 2019)

All Summer Bangers so far
collected here on Spotify