TURN UP THE VOLUME’s JUKEBOX 2023 – 10 New Tracks Added Every Week

Every week 10 new rad tracks added

In order to not miss a beat Turn Up The Volume scans the musical
horizon daily (doing it for years now, actually) to stay in touch with
all new things sonically great and shares the results on a weekly

Check the 10 new rad cuts just
added to this rad 2023 playlist.


Steam to Spotify and stream.


1. ‘The Dancer’ by IDLES (Bristol, UK)

Press photo

Bristol punks IDLES have worked their
way up since 2018 with 4 splendid albums.

And the recordings of number 5 are finished. The new one
is baptized TANGK and materialises on 16 February 2024.

The first single named DANCER features backing vocals
from LCD Soundsystem’s James Murphy and Nancy Whang.



2.’Gone’ by SLEEK TEETH (Los Angeles)

This darkwave/electro/EBM  duo just released their booming debut single ‘Gone’.

ST: “Gone is an awakening of sorts, a shift in consciousness that hits like a fever dream.
There’s no promise of some enlightening revelation to come, and it’s that terrifying feeling
of losing your grip on reality where real transformation can take place.”

It’s a striking debut that triggers all of your limbs to get up, stand up, and fight
for your right to party in the dark. References? D.A.F. (Deutsch-Amerikanische
) and Clan Of Xymox



3. ‘We Got To Move’ by LOL TOLHURST BUDGIE producer JACKNIFE LEE (UK/Los Angeles)

New supergroup featuring former The Cure drummer Lol Torhust,
, former Siouxsie and the Banshees drummer and Siouxsie‘s ex-husband,
and Irish music producer Jacknife Lee launch their debut LP Los Angeles
on November 3.

This 3rd appetizer is another dancefloor knockout
with Modest Mouse’s Isaac Brock on vocals.


4. ‘R.E.T.R.O.’ by SAM SHERDEL (Sheffield, UK)

Sherdel: “”R.E.T.R.O” was written in 2021 after the initial lockdowns. It’s a bittersweet pop record which contains the message to appreciate what you have whilst you have it, as the moment it’s gone is the moment it hurts.”

This is the kind of song that your ears embrace on first hearing. An impassioned
riff ripper with an effervescent tempo, feverish vocals – think Stereophonics‘ dynamizing voice Kelly Jones – and a puissant refrain, think the vivid drive of Americana hero John Mellencamp. Touchdown!

The accompanying video is a romantic beauty.


5. ‘House Of Pain’ by THE BATTERY FARM (Manchester, UK)

The British gutter punk 4-piece have their 12th single out, since hitting the scene in 2019.

“It’s a song about survival, a song that kicks back against the shame imposed on all of us who are scraping by in an ongoing and worsening cost of greed crisis. You do what you have to survive, and how dare anyone in a position of privilege look down their nose.”

House Of Pain is a chaotic slash and smash haymaker, a left/right uppercut, with schizophrenic guitars, crazed drumming, and a vocalist that screams his lungs out.
No rest for the wicked.

Tune in.
Start a moshpit


6. ‘Devil Comes In Colour’ by FRAKARD (Cardiff, Wales)

“Devil Comes in Colour was the first song that Frakard ever wrote. Singer Ben and Guitarist Ben sat facing the open window of his flat, and it poured out of us. It means exactly what you think it does – it resides in a world of drugs, women and darkness. It sat dormant for years until we felt confident enough to revisit and perfect it. It is the 2nd in a series of 3 singles about the stages of a relationship, showcasing its rise and fall. It began with ‘Come With Me?’ earlier this year and will culminate in 2024.”

WOWZERS! Be ready for a jagged mid-tempo jackhammer with hectic
guitar hooks, frantic drumming, razor-edged vocals and a vociferous

Unleash the devil.


7. ‘Run Run Run’ by THE LIBERTINES (London, UK)

Press photo

THE LIBERTINES are active once again. It’s been 8 years since the release of their
3rd album Anthems For Doomed Youth, which was their first in 11 years back then.

So great news for the Libs fans. The new longplayer is named ALL QUIET ON THE EASTERN ESPLANADE and will be launched on 8 March 2024. Pre-order info

RUN RUN RUN is a sickly sticky runner.
A vintage Libertines anthem. Hail hail.


8. ‘Stockholm’ by CACTUS FLOWERS (USA)

This Houston psych-rock outfit have their sophomore
full-length Elation out on November 17th.

Album artwork

But first this new single. Frontwoman/bandleader Jessica A.M. channels the power of a live volcano through her guitar rig, her tone pouring through your speakers like scorching lava. Meanwhile, her mystical lyrics convey a dreamlike, starry-eyed romanticism spiked with a bite of attitude.

Stockholm‘s circles around a trance-inducing, magnetic riff – think Yo La Tengo – and
rings deliriously on the chorus with vitalizing vocals. Top-notch score!

Listen up.



9. ‘Lie’ by MILLIE MILNER & THE DEADNAMES (Manchester, UK)

Photo Credit: Izzy Clayton

Beginning as a solo project and growing into a band, Millie Milner & The Deadnames
of Manchester, UK was forged with a stronger mission at the heart…to be the queer representation that the band’s members struggled to find in their own teenage years.

Edi Milner (frontperson): “For me the band is all about the bigger picture. It’s more
than music, it’s a home for people like us that often struggle to find a place to fit in.”

Lie was inspired by a breakup of Milner’s and co-penned by a friend, “lie” tells of
a need to take ownership of their life and their choices and the newfound element
of fun and recklessness they found themselves surrounded by as a newly single

It’s indie at its vivid best. Sparkling guitars going berserk now and then, firm
drum hits, crystal clear vocals/harmonies, evocative lyrics, and a banging chorus.

Check in.
Clap your hands.


10. ‘Feelin Sorry‘ by MY MORNNG JACKET (USA)

MMJ: “We have always loved music that celebrates the many feelings that come rushing in during the holiday season. Long ago we recorded an EP for itunes but it was never pressed on vinyl so this year for Record Store Day Black Friday next month we thought it would be fun to re-release these tunes.”

The EP will feature two new tracks. One of them is this
nostalgic and romantic Xmassy ballad, named ‘Feelin Sorry’.


See/hear you next week, music junkies

TUTV: Facebook – Instagram – Twitter

Leave a Reply