TURN UP THE VOLUME’s JUKEBOX 2023 – 10 New Tracks Added Every Week

In order to not miss a beat Turn Up The Volume scans the musical
horizon daily (doing it for years now, actually) to stay in touch with
all new things sonically great and shares the results on a weekly

Check the 10 new rad cuts just
added to this rad 2023 playlist.


1. ‘Everybody’s Safe Until…’ by PARIS TEXAS (US)

This sharp-rap-cutting Los Angeles duo released their highly acclaimed riot-gun album
Mid Air last month. This 3rd single is nothing less than fucktastic, with a sickly sticky flow, a killer guitar riff and the tandem’s adrenalized vocality.

Let’s rattle and roll.


2. ‘What’s The Point In Life’ by COACH PARTY (England)

These young British punk-pop gunslingers will follow their blistering 5-track debut EP Parasite with their debut LP Killjoy on 8 September. It will surely crank up the (justified)
hype around this mean rock machine. Can’t wait to see them live (in Belgium).

Trust me, Coach Party is a point in life.


3. ‘METALI!!’ by BABY METAL (Japan)

The kawaii metal girls teamed up with Rage Against The Machine guitarist Tom Morello
for this new head-banging blast. Their mix of catchy metal, pop-punk melodies and
pithy/screamy vocals is a is infallible formula.

Hell bloody metali yeah!


4. ‘S l o w l y, L o n g’ by VIRGINS (Belfast, Ireland)

Their 2022 debut EP Transmit A Little Heaven made it loud and
clear that these young shoegazers like to turn up amps and speed.

S l o w l y, l o n g confirms that sonic taste with layers of scintillating guitars going
everywhere fast and a swirling drummer who never backs down. And singer Rebecca
‘s hallucinatory vocals add both a ghostly and sensuous feel.



5. ‘Ozone Scraper’ by DJ SHADOW (US)

The now 51-year-old, celebrated drum/bass/hip-hop DJ has his
new, 7th LP, named Action Adventure out on 27 October.

Ozone Scraper is the first single, pretty poppy-mainstream,
for DJ Shadow‘s standards.


6. ‘Hippocandy’ by DRY WHITE BONES (UK)

Hippocandy is a railroad journey, insistent repeating rhythm and wailing blues harp,
growly voice and Rock n Roll feel guitar all adds up to a crazy mixed genre that hints
of Folk, Bluegrass, Rock, Gypsy, Industrial, hip hop and post punk.

The crazed harmonica play, the raw punk-blues pace, the bewildering
groaning/howling vocals. The ghost of Captain Beefheart is omnipresent.


7. ‘Not The Man’ by VICKY VON VICKY (Ontario, CA)

Artwork by Michael Wynn

VvV is the musical project of Michael Wynn. Last summer inspired him to write
this new piece, in the voice of someone who is looking for purpose, and some
sort of legacy in their life.

Not The Man is a rollicking earworm your eager ears just can’t resist.
It’s a glorious-amplified pop tune, that in a normal world, should be
a hit.



8. ‘Jim Bristol’ by JOE RIAN (Midwest/Chicago)

Rian is a seasoned troubadour/songwriter who likes to stir the sounds of Roots, Country and Folk into a nice pot of musical soup. Along with his band he released a new album, titled Midwest Boy.

Highlight Jim Bristol made me instantly think of Johnny Cash going to Reno, and killing
a man just to watch him die. Well, that’s what the late icon told us when he had some Folsom prison blues.


9. ‘Die Down’ by TV PEOPLE (Dublin, Ireland)

Unveiling an audacious blend of post-punk and alternative rock in a dark
and gritty sonic landscape, TV People are set to make waves in the
indie music scene with this deeply profound new single.

Die Down reflects on cyclical patterns of love, conflict, and resolution in a relationship.
It is written from the perspective of a person who feels trapped in a negative cycle in their love life, where unresolved issues repeatedly cause pain to both them and their partner despite the immense love and support that flows between them.

Expect an electrical, layered guitar-driven track that changes speed along
its moody course while heartfelt vocals going through the relationship crisis.


10. ‘The Sinner’ by THE CORAL (Liverpool, UK)

The seasoned psych-folk-pop-rock ramblers The Coral have two longplayers out
on 8 September, named Sea Of Mirrors and Holy Joe’s Island Medicine Show.

Ahead of it, comes this 4th shared single.
A mellow lullaby for the twilight hours.

Steam to Spotify and stream


Leave a Reply